The Path

Ashaya: A Universal Dharma of Heart and Mind. A Way of Oneness. A Community. A Calling.

The Master’s throughout the ages have been trying to tell us something…

And that something is that there’s a huge untapped potential inside of us and we don’t even know it.

In the Buddhist tradition this potential is called Buddha Nature.

We’re all Buddha’s and Ashaya is here to help you remember that truth.

A Universal Dharma of Heart and Mind
We’re all looking for a path which doesn’t point to an unassailable mountaintop on high. We seek something immediate, tangible and real. A path to free us from suffering and help us find true authentic happiness. A path of an awakened heart and illumined mind.

This is the Ashaya Way of the Awakened Warrior.

Ashaya (äh – shī – yäh)
Sankrit: the abode of the heart. where the heart rests and takes refuge. home of the heart
Arabic: living miracle. life and hope
Yoruba: the power to make things happen. the spiritual life force that flows through all the universe (chi/ki)

Ashaya practitioners work diligently to be living miracles and actively embody the way of the Awakened Warrior (Bodhisattva).

They are fully immersed in the world and use their power of Awakened Awareness to make positive things happen wherever they are.

They are committed to bringing about an enlightened society.

Ashaya practitioners believe that enlightenment can be achieved in this very lifetime, even as lay practitioners living in the midst of samsara. This is the ultimate expression of Enlightenment.

Here at Ashaya we’re heavily influenced by Zen and Tantra but we also use Dzogchen, Mahamudra and Theravada teachings to help you awakening to your true nature – as state beyond words, which is radiant and illuminating, with no beginning or end and spontaneously pours forth compassion.

We know well that there can be no causal connection between practice and Awakening (as this is your fundamental state). But the obstacles to Awakening are deeply affected by practice.

The 5 Stages of the Path

These five stages are set up in three major parts.

This is a general framework to help you come to know, realize and actualize the awakened state.

The three sections are:

1) Sīla (meaningful behaviours/skillful thoughts, words and actions or this can be termed as a foundation in being a good person. In the five stages this is stage 1)

We take on the precepts, maybe even the Bodhisattva promise and begin to work with and contemplate the four thoughts which turn the mind. We also begin to work with the Four Foundational Precepts, the Nine Elements of Awakening and develop the heartfelt wish to become a Universal Blessing to all sentient beings.

At this stage we are inspired by the great masters that show us our potential. We know that there’s something more to us and life itself. And we dip our toes into the four noble truths and the eightfold path.

Stages one and two are also characterized by healing. So we’ll probably start taking better care of ourselves and begin to focus more on our health.

During this phase we’ll also begin looking in the 7 chakras and how we’re showing up in our own lives and the patterns we keep bumping up against. This stage is also characterized with a deep desire to free ourselves and others from suffering and we begin to turn ourselves away from the things that give us limited happiness in favour of true and authentic happiness.

2) Samādhi (meditative absorption and concentration. This is stage 2. Here we start in on the techniques of meditation. In particular the 9 stages of shamatha and the four fold mindfulness training. We employ awareness as best we can all throughout the day.

3) Pañña or Prajna (understanding or wisdom). Stages 3 – 5. Now that we’ve done some healing, established skilfulness in our lives and have a solid grounding in meditation we move onto deepening our wisdom into the nature of ourselves and reality itself (Vipassana and Emptiness Teachings)

Stage 1: Radiant Life

* Entering the way of oneness: The Two Gates
* The Four Noble Truths
* The Eightfold Path
* The Bodhisattva Promise (Bodhicitta)
* The Four Foundational Precepts
* The Nine Elements of Awakening
* The Four Thoughts Which Turn the Mind
* The 7 Chakras
* Overcoming the 5 Hinderances

Meditative Practices
* Loving Kindness
* Tong Len (and the Four Noble Truths) By examining the awareness of ones own suffering One develops a desire to completely free All sentient beings from suffering

Health Related
* The 5 Daily Health Habits

Additional Practices and Teachings
* Vajrasattva Mantra
* The Three Types of Dharma Practitioners
* Meditations on Impermanence
– The Changing of the Seasons
– The Day Into Night
– Whatever You Have Gained (Wealth) Will Be Lost
– Friends Coming Together Will Be Separated
– Life: Birth Leads to Death
* Meditations on the Faults of Samsara
* Meditations on Cause & Effect

Stage 2: Radiant Mind

* The 9 Stages of Samatha (calm abiding)
* The Fourfold Mindfulnesses
* The Four Meditative Postures: Walking. Standing. Sitting. Lying Down.
* Awareness of Body, Feelings, Mind and Mind-Objects
* Real World Immersive Mindfulness Practices
* The 8 Dyhanas
* The Nine False-Positives

Stage 3: Radiant Wisdom
* Inter-Being
* The Nine Progressive Stages of Emptiness

Stage 4: Radiant Vision
* This is where the above three stages begin to harmonize and stabilize (Meaningful Behaviour/Samadhi/Wisdom) We have truly begun to actualize and realize the four noble truths and eightfold path

Stage 5: Radiant Oneness
* This is where you have crossed over

Crazy Wisdom: Zen Stories to Inspire and Enlighten


In this book you'll fnd some of my favourite Zen stories. 

Awesome!!! You'll get a confirmation email shortly with your download link.